Commiserating

It’s nice to be able to talk with someone who gets it.

It’s nice to be able to cry with someone who gets it.

It’s nice to be able to just sit and listen to someone who’s telling the same story.

It’s nice to be able to tell my story and they understand.

It’s especially nice if its a lovely summer evening on a deck overlooking the ocean.

It’s nice to be able to just be… emotional, teary, honest.   And not worry if you’re upsetting the other people.

 

I miss you Mark.  With all my heart…. I miss you.

2 thoughts on “Commiserating

  1. InstantWidow says:

    Gorgeous view. That looks like an excellent place for a cup of coffee.

    I get it. I understand. Someone recently said “baby steps” and I thought that was so fitting. This feels like faltering, out of balance, and stumbling baby steps on a new terrain within a new world – trying to get our feet back under us.

    Rest well while you are at the ocean. The ocean gives me peace, too. I need to get down there and put my toes in the sand. Charleston, SC is closest to me. I went to college there. Lots of good memories and very few of Bob – he and I didn’t wind up spending much time there. It can be hard finding a place to go that isn’t “haunted”, so to speak.

    Rest yourself and take many deep breaths. You will survive this. I’m up to 7 months. The one thing you cannot stop is time. It will march forward with or without you. Get on the people-mover-thingy.

  2. Kelly says:

    This is how I feel reading your blog. It has been a month since I lost my husband of 31 years so I started back from the beginning reading through your journey. I sat here thinking…. she gets what I am feeling. I am not sure what spurred your desire to write this blog whether to help in your healing or to help others or both. Whatever the reason, I feel like the words you are saying came from my heart and head. I miss Fred so much but each day I look for a way to find him in the day while living it for him.

Leave a Reply

