I Got the Tattoo….

I had planned on having a memorial tattoo done in honour of my husband.   I had hemmed & hawed over what to get and where on my body to get it.

Something under my left breast?  Close to my heart?

Something on my right ankle, as a part of the tattoo for my kids?

Nothing really seemed right.

Then I remembered the tattoo I got done that included my wedding flowers – and I thought – wedding flowers… a single lily on my breast, with a hummingbird drinking from it, with Mark’s handwriting underneath it.  Some of Mark’s ashes were mixed in with the tattoo ink so he’s forever in my skin.

The tattoo turned out beautifully:

 

And I’m really really really happy with it.

There will be colour added to it in about a month… the redness is irritation from the tattooing.

The tattoo artist was Brian Snively of Sink the Ink Tattoo in Maple Ridge, BC.  I would recommend him to anyone.  He was kind, respectful, funny and fun to work with.   He was solicitous and I had a great time while it was being done.

This has been an incredibly emotional weekend.  Lots of tears, lots of laughter, and some pain to round it all off.   The pain was cathartic… and unexpectedly minor 😛

But the tears were what I needed the most.

I miss him, so very much.  Beyond what I thought I could ever feel.

But now I have a piece of him with me forever…

2 thoughts on “I Got the Tattoo….

  1. Hadassah Hannah says:

    I am so very glad that you have found another way to find comfort.

  2. Charity says:

    May Walter loved hummingbirds. What a beautiful idea. The ashes, even … just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

