The Wedding Video…

When we got married 13 years ago… my friends created a wedding video for us.

It got lost in the shuffle, didn’t make it to VHS, got stuck in a box got moved 3 or 4 times, and never made it into my hands.

I didn’t really think about the wedding video.  Every once in a while I asked about it, there was always things preventing it being transposed to a viewable tape.

A lost camera.  A lost cord.  A move.  Lots of reasons.   And 13 years later… I got it.

8 weeks after his death.

I never got to watch it with him.

I have, however, seen it 3 times this week.   I will watch it many more times.

I’m sad that I never got to watch this with him… but so eternally grateful I have it now.

It was lovely watching the ceremony.  It was nice seeing the “congratulations” and the first dance and the family and the whole thing…

But what got me…. what is more precious than anything… was the 30 seconds of the camera being on Mark.   Him looking into the camera, telling me he loves me.

Those moments of seeing HIM.  Hearing HIM.

He looks so much the same.  His voice sounds the same.

Those 30 seconds are worth more than anything to me…. I will never lose his laugh, his voice, his smile, or HIM….  He is forever captured in those 30 seconds – everything that connected him to me.  Everything that connected me to him.

3 thoughts on “The Wedding Video…

  1. Leona says:

    So glad you were able to have this wonderful memory, best to you & the kids.

  2. Charity says:

    Same happened with my wedding video. This post is gonna make me get it put to DVD and watch it. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

