It Didn’t Kill Me

Although I almost started crying when my piano teacher played a couple things out of the songs I brought.

My choices of songs to learn for now:

Moonlight Sonata – Beethoven
Goodbye My Lover – James Blunt

And a few others.  The focus for the moment will be on Moonlight Sonata.

But my piano teacher thought that playing the James Blunt song and doing some improvisation on it would be a good idea…. and tears threatened to flow.

I’m a bit of a masochist – but I think learning to play that song will help me process, a bit.

What I didn’t expect was how Moonlight Sonata would affect me.  It was almost as emotional as the James Blunt song.   And my teacher plays it beautifully.

It’s romantic and beautifully evokes emotions.  It speaks of love and longing and loss.   And I didn’t expect that.

Both songs force me to feel my emotions instead of pushing them aside.  Have I mentioned I love music?

It feeds my soul…. allows me to feel and to process my emotions.  And I look forward to when I can play the songs with the emotion I feel when I hear them.

Leave a Reply

