I’m Sick

Nothing to tell me how very much alone I am like being sick.

I’m dying.  I’m not really… but I feel like it.

It’s just a cold.  I get that.  But he’s always been here to take care of me when I’m sick.

I’m one of those fortunate people who only gets sick once or twice a year.  I don’t have lingering all the time colds.

I get sick, bam! down for 3 days and pretty much useless for those 3 days.

Cold medications don’t help much.  They deal with the sniffles and the cough, but my head is stuffed and my eyes are watery and my body is achy and I just want to curl up and disappear.   I’m too hot with clothes on, too cold without, need a blanket to curl up under but hate how freaking sweaty I get when I’m under a blanket.

He took care of me.  He would make sure that I had juice, that I had chicken soup, that I had everything I needed.

He took care of the house, the kids, everything.  All I had to do is concentrate on getting better.

I can’t ask “George” to take care of me – we’re not in that space – we’re not *there* and I’m pretty sure he’d politely decline if I asked him to.

But he has an amazingly comfy couch.   A quiet, peaceful home.   A good place to hide and just *be*

I miss Mark… He gave me that in my own home… the quiet place to be.    A place to just be taken care of.   I need that right now.  I need him.

Jane Sleeping

 

 

3 thoughts on “I’m Sick

  1. Sierra says:

    I’m sorry you aren’t feeling well. Do you have a favorite shirt of his you like to wear? I do with my guy, especially when he is out of town or away at work. It really does help, I find it soothing.

  2. Rose Chimera says:

    Oh I’m so sorry you’re feeling sick. Not only does it mess up your routine, it just makes it so glaringly obvious that Mark is gone. I’m sorry. I like Sierra’s suggestion though, wrap yourself up in something of Mark’s and just do the bare minimum until you’re feeling better. It just doesn’t matter sometimes. Just take care of you. You’re clearly not as ornery as I am because I refuse to get sick damnit! I won’t! I won’t! lol…But maybe your body is telling you, take it easy, slow down, nurture yourself. I think you should listen to your body and slow down, nurture yourself, take it easy. Take two aspirin and call me in the morning, ok?

  3. sunnyjane says:

    I’m feeling better!! 🙂 Woke up and could breathe – still have *some* symptoms but it’s not nearly as bad as it was yesterday 🙂

Leave a Reply

