Decorating for Christmas

I’m trying to not to be all sad and maudlin right now.  I’m trying to bring cheer and laughter to my kids’ Christmas experience this year.

We decorated the tree today.  Pulled out decorations, started putting things up.

The boys aren’t into it this year.  They want to play XBox.  They want to ignore Christmas.  They don’t get to LOL.

But since I wasn’t very *into* it – I let them decorate the tree and go back to their games.   Later or tomorrow, we’ll do a cheery Christmas night fun stuff… 🙂

It’s going to be a slow process… the decorating.  Usually it’s a one Sunday thing, Mark makes hot chocolate, cooks dinner, and makes us snacks.  He was never into the decorating, it was my thing, but the whole family was involved, the music was on and we did it together.

I’m trying to focus on what we DO have, not what we’re missing.   We miss him, I miss him, but we’re doing family fun together.   I have, for the first time in a long time… all my kids here… Christmas will be about celebrating the family that’s here.

I miss him so much though.

I Cried

One thought on “Decorating for Christmas

  1. schooner119 says:

    You said it – “Christmas will be about celebrating the family that’s here.
    I miss him so much though.”

    Of course “you miss him” – the two things are OK together. Having a lousy Christmas and pushing the loved one’s away wouldn’t and couldn’t mean you miss him any more. After all they miss him too.

Leave a Reply

