Almost a Perfect Day

The other day I posted about the year in review, finding the good in what has happened over the past year.

Surprisingly – or not – there was a lot of good in the past year.

Once I made the decision to do that – my Christmas spirit hit.   I miss Mark, I want him back, the holidays are not *quite* the same without him… but Christmas is still my favourite time of year.  I’m still looking forward to the presents, the dinner, the baking and everything that goes along with Christmas.

And today – I had an almost perfect day.

I woke up tired… so when my kids were off to school and Kathy had left for work (she comes for coffee every day) I decided to nap on the couch.    I got a 2 hour nap to start my day.

Then Adriana came over to chatter & connect and she motivated me to get my family room and the counter/closet under my stairs cleaned and decluttered and organized.    She’s coming back again tomorrow to help me with my laundry room.

After she left, Kathy came back, Michelle showed up, and Britt joined us for coffee and chatter while Kathy did her Christmas calendars and I did my Christmas cards.

Dinner was awesome… and then “George” came over to help me with something.   After that we went for coffee and then back to his house to watch a movie and snuggle.

It’s been a while since I’ve had a day where I felt good, since I felt present and in the moment and connected to those around me.     I felt at peace, all day.

I miss Mark… but I’m starting to enjoy life again.  There’s so much beauty, so much love, so much to be grateful for in life…  I feel faintly like I’m betraying his memory – but only faintly.  I KNOW he would have wanted me to be happy.  I KNOW he’d have wanted me to be at peace.   I KNOW he’d want me to live life to the fullest.

Today, I go to bed… knowing I had an almost perfect day… and I am at peace.

Peace

One thought on “Almost a Perfect Day

  1. schooner119 says:

    You deserve this – feeling faintly but knowing all the things you KNOW seems like a good deal.

Leave a Reply

