I Wanna Know What Love Is… Daily Prompt

I’m signed up for the Daily Post for occasional blog ideas.

Today’s thought is I Wanna Know What Love Is

What does love mean to me?  What is the common thread that allows me to love my late husband with every fibre of my being but at the same time allows me to love my new boyfriend just as intensely?

What allows me to love the man who just left his wife and needed to crash at my house with the same type of connection as I love my friends?

For me, its the level of connection.  It’s how the other person touches my soul – how they affect me and how open I am to being vulnerable to being hurt.

My husband died.  I used to tell a story that everyone I ever loved left me.  My dad – left and then ultimately died.  Every boyfriend I’ve ever had.  My son moved to another province.  My daughter moved to another city.  My mother moved 5 hours away.  My husband died.

The vulnerability, the fear of being left could have kept me from loving again.  It could have kept me from opening my heart again.  I could have turned away the man who needed a place.  I could have pushed away the friends who I trusted to hold me up when I was falling.  I could have kept my distance from the man who showed me I could love another man after my husband died.

I didn’t.  Each of those people touched my heart, touched my soul.  Each of those people are important to me.

Love is being willing to risk being hurt.  Love is being willing to have someone leave.  Love is trusting that they will love you even if they do.

Love is taking a step through the door and risking heart break.  Because the rewards of loving and being loved in return are infinitely more satisfying than the heartbreak hurts.

Broken Heart

I Miss You

5 thoughts on “I Wanna Know What Love Is… Daily Prompt

  1. […] I Wanna Know What Love Is… Daily Prompt | Walking the Widow’s Path […]

  2. […] of love | Hope* the happy hugger Daily Prompt: I Want To Know What Love Is | suzie81′s Blog I Wanna Know What Love Is… Daily Prompt | Walking the Widow’s Path Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is. Dammit! | My Endless Rants & Ramblings Questioning […]

  3. […] I Wanna Know What Love Is… Daily Prompt | Walking the Widow’s Path […]

  4. […] I Wanna Know What Love Is… Daily Prompt | Walking the Widow’s Path […]

  5. […] I Wanna Know What Love Is… Daily Prompt | Walking the Widow’s Path […]

Leave a Reply

