Talking To Kids

I’ve been debating the merits of counselling and grief support for my sons.

I found a grief counselor who wanted me to come in and have a session with her before she would see my son.

Yesterday, we’re watching PS I Love You and the widow in the movie is having flashbacks/visitations from her deceased husband and Andrew turns to me and says “Does Dad talk to you still?”

He does sometimes.

I asked him if Dad talked to him – he said no.  I asked him if he dreamed about Dad.  He said no.   I asked him if he ever woke from a sleep, not having dreamed but in a really great mood.

He said yes.

I told him that it probably was his Dad, coming to him in dreams, and he seemed satisfied.

It’s the first time in recent memory that Andrew’s brought up his Dad to me without my prompting.

Makes me feel better that he’s not seeing a counselor.   Because he’s still talking.

Pictures 087

One thought on “Talking To Kids

  1. Kathy Dunlop says:

    I love that picture !

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

