Dogs…

We got a new puppy.  Diesel.   He’s 9 weeks old, and a boxer/Australian Shepherd cross.

Diesel

 

My other dog, Bear, is somewhat less than happy with the new addition to our family.

Bear

 

Diesel is a puppy.  He wants to play with Bear.  He wants the treats.  He wants to assert his little puppy dominance.

Bear doesn’t so much appreciate it.  He doesn’t like sharing his bones or chew toys.  He doesn’t like sharing our affection.  He especially doesn’t like Diesel trying to hump him or play with his tail.

So Bear barks at us.

One of our things with Bear… we ask him if he wants to go outside when he’s misbehaving.  He immediately drops to the ground and lays down like he should have in the first place.

So my youngest says to Bear when he’s barking at us about Diesel… “you want to go outside Bear?”

Bear looks at him like… “No.  I want my life back the way it was.”

Poor Bear.  He lost his constant companion.  He sat at the bottom of the stairs in our house for months and months waiting for Mark to come back.

And Mark never did.

And when I came back – I was gone.  Mentally, emotionally… just gone.  I didn’t like my animals much.  I didn’t want to have much to do with them.

When I finally started coming back to loving my pets and wanting them around, I then uprooted them.

We went on a LOT of trips and then we moved.

Mike isn’t so much a dog person.  He has different rules for the dog than I do.   It’s a bit of a bone of contention.

And then we brought the puppy home.

It’s an adjustment for poor Bear.   He’ll get used to Diesel, but in the meantime… I’m trying to give him more love and attention to make up for the “aaaawwwwwwwwwww… PUPPY!”  reaction from all the kids (and me).

Leave a Reply

