Big Bike Ride

In 2009, my late husband had a heart attack.  He had been having chest pains for about 2 weeks prior, but neglected to tell me because he figured they were related to his ankylosing spondylitis.

 

That changed our world forever.

 

Then 3 months later, he had another one.

 

I wouldn’t have gotten another 3 years with him, without the amazing skills of the doctors and nurses.   All of which was backed by the reasearch done by the Heart and Stroke Foundation.

 

In just over a week, I’ll be doing the Big Bike Ride with the Heart & Stroke Foundation in Williams Lake.

 

I’m hoping to raise at least $250.

 

If you have $5, $10, $20 or more that you’re willing to donate – please go here to donate: http://www.kintera.org/faf/donorReg/donorPledge.asp?ievent=1096476&lis=0&supId=408088118

 

He died in June 2012.   In 23 days it will have been 2 years.   I recently was looking through old texts and saw one from him that said he was going to get serious now about losing weight and getting healthy.

 

3 days later he went into the hospital.

 

He didn’t die of a heart issue – although his heart was affected – but I believe that the pancreatitis came on as a result of the many medications he was on due to both the ankylosing spondylitis and the heart condition.

 

I am grateful for every day I got with him.   I want to help others have those days with their loved ones.

 

Mark in Fruitvale

 

2 thoughts on “Big Bike Ride

  1. I was a widow at age 27. Thank you for doing the bike ride. I don’t see a link to contribute?

  2. sunnyjane says:

    The link didn’t populate when I copied this post from my other blog. I’ve added a link for you now.

    I’m sorry for your loss. It’s a terrible club to belong to.

Leave a Reply

