Sneaky Triggers…

L:  Mom, can I call my friend and ask if I can go for a sleep over there?

Me:  No it’s Father’s Day tomor…. never mind.  Go ahead.

L: Ok.

Yeah.  Father’s Day doesn’t have the same meaning anymore.  And now I get to hurt because for a moment, I forgot.

I got the downstairs kitchen cleaned in the process of trying to distract myself from the hurt.

AND found the source of the smell I’ve been trying to track down for the last few days.

Mark watching over us again, I suppose – if it wasn’t for that random trigger – I wouldn’t have cleaned up the kitchen, and I wouldn’t have found that the burner was on and melting the cooler sitting on it.   It was a fire danger… and now we’re safe.

Happy Father’s Day Mark.   We miss you.

Mark in Fruitvale

2 thoughts on “Sneaky Triggers…

  1. gloriamidwife says:

    I’m having an inner sort of tantrum? Not sure if that’s the right word. I’m angry that my boyfriend is expecting something today. I’m angry at my husband for dying and making Father’s Day an ambiguous sort of day for my children. I’m upset that they have no one to write little handmade cards to today and their friends do.

    ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

