Things Change… in an instant.

January 19, 2012:  my husband goes into the hospital for what we thought would be a short stay, and then home again.  It had happened several times before – it wasn’t unexpected.

January 22, 2012: being told my husband had a 5-7% chance of survival overnight.

June 25, 2012:  being told there was nothing more they could do.

June 26, 2012, 415pm: he takes his last breath.

Life changes in a moment.  Anything can happen in one day.

One Day

I moved, I fell in love again, the relationship ended, I moved out, he moved out and now… I’m heading into school.

My life is about to change again.

When you practially live in the ICU, you get to know the nurses who live there.  The good ones.  The meh ones.  The ones you request never be assigned to your spouse again.  And the amazing ones.

Every single one of those nurses are why I am changing careers and going into nursing.  I want to be one of those amazing nurses who makes a difference for the patients and the families.  I want to take what was a brutally painful, brutally hard 6 months of my life (that turned into something even worse) and use that compassion I have for others in my situation to make the unbearable bearable.

I have been accepted to nursing school.  I’m taking the 2 year Licensed Practical Nurse program as a first step to being one of those amazing people in the ICU.

School starts in 2 months.  And I have to come up with $1500 in tuition.

Please understand.  I am NOT asking for donations/money etc.  I am NOT asking you to fund me going to school (although I won’t turn down any offers!)

BUT! If you are looking for some amazingly unique gift ideas… my amazingly awesome cousin Simone has decided to put on a fundraiser.

Simply – you buy something for yourself, someone you love, or as a teacher gift…. and my cousin donates her commission to me.

So… if you have a moment to peruse, could ya look at the amazing stuff that she sells? Fantastic gift ideas, and it will help me get through this next few months of school while I apply for scholarships and cut corners and budget tighter to pay for my tuition.

The website for the facebook event is: Fundraising for Jane.  Click the link to go to the event, and Simone will answer any questions you might have.

Like I said, I’m not asking for donations.  I’m asking you to buy a gift for someone in your life, do some Christmas shopping, and it will help me in the end.

Because life changes in an instant.  In one day, I can fall in love, or I can change my world.  And in one day, you can help change mine.

Leave a Reply

