I Can’t Promise

“I can’t promise to love you for the rest of your life, but I promise I’ll love you for the rest of mine.”

I saw this on a lovely little knick-nack the other day.

At first, there was the acid wash of grief over my heart, the hitch of breath, the pain that accompanies a reminder of what was lost.

Then I realized… I WILL love him for the rest of mine.

And that’s amazing.

I looked over at the Sexy Chef, and thought to myself… this applies to you. I can’t promise I’ll love you for the rest of your life, but I promise I’ll love you for the rest of mine.

Love is my superpower. And I was blessed not once, but twice with a man who loves me, with all my flaws, my imperfections and my quirks.

Long live love.  For the rest of my life…

Long-Live-Love

2 thoughts on “I Can’t Promise

  1. Deb says:

    I’m happy for you.
    Your messages lighten my sorrow and give me hope there can be love again.

  2. Jacqui says:

    Wishing you happiness with the Sexy Chef. And you will love Mark for the rest of your life! I recently read this Rumi quote “Goodbyes are only for those who love with their eyes. For those who love with heart and soul there is no separation.” I know you love Mark with heart and soul. You are blessed indeed to find such enduring love again.

Leave a Reply

